HLX at a glance
HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX, SEC CIK 866829) filed its latest 10-K annual report on February 26, 2026, a 10-Q quarterly report on August 6, 2026, an 8-K current report on September 8, 2026 and Form 4 insider filings as recently as September 4, 2026. SignalX summarizes each filing with AI and tracks the company's insider trades and institutional holders.
- For the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025 (FY2025), HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX) reported revenue of $1.3 billion (down 4.9% from FY2024) and net income of $30.8 million. Diluted EPS was $0.21.
- As of June 30, 2026, 31 institutional investment managers tracked by SignalX reported holding HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX) shares worth $686.7 million in 13F-HR filings.
Source: SEC EDGAR (XBRL financial data, 13F-HR and Form 4 filings).
- Revenue · FY2025
- $1.3B
- −4.9% vs prior year
- Insiders · 90 days
- 0 buys · 0 sells
- No open-market trades
- 13F holders
- 31 funds
- $686.7M · +1 vs prior quarter
- Latest 8-K
- Sep 8, 2026
- Current report
AI 10-K Annual Report Analysis
Latest 10-K, fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025
Business Overview
- Core business: international offshore energy services focused on well intervention, robotics, and decommissioning
- Emphasis on supporting global energy transition via maximizing oil and gas production, decommissioning, and renewable energy support
- Strategic focus on integrating renewable energy developments alongside traditional oil and gas services
- Principal offices in Houston, Texas; common stock listed on NYSE under ticker HLX
- CEO submitted NYSE annual certification May 2025; management certified per Sarbanes-Oxley Section 302
Management Discussion & Analysis
- Revenue/YoY change: Not disclosed in provided MD&A section
- Profitability/margin change: Not disclosed in provided MD&A section
- Best/worst performing segment: Not disclosed in provided MD&A section
- Share repurchases: 19,048 shares bought in Dec 2025 at $7.25/share, $128.4M authorization under 2023 Repurchase Program
- Forward-looking: No financial guidance or risk commentary disclosed in provided MD&A section
Risk Factors
- Regulatory/legal risk: U.S. 2025 Wind Energy Ban temporarily halting new wind leasing on U.S. Outer Continental Shelf impacting renewable revenue
- Geopolitical/macroeconomic risk: Global commodity price drop 20% in 2025, plus instability in Middle East, Ukraine, Venezuela affecting offshore oil and gas customer spending
- Operational/supply chain risk: Reduced 2025 Well Intervention vessel utilization (72% from 90%), including Seawell warm-stacked and 131 vessel docking days vs 10 days prior year
- Competitive/market disruption risk: Lower Robotics vessel and ROV utilization (59% vs 69%) despite 9% revenue growth; spot market challenges for well intervention assets Q4000, Q7000
- Financial risk: Significant backlog concentration with 82% tied to contracts with Shell, Subsea 7, Petrobras, Talos, NKT, CNR totaling $1.3 billion at year-end 2025
AI summary of the HLX 10-K filed . Generated from the filing text; verify against the original.View on SEC EDGARHow to read a 10-K
AI 10-Q Quarterly Report Analysis
Latest 10-Q, quarter ended Jun 30, 2026
Management Discussion & Analysis
- Revenue $304.0M, up 21% YoY from $251.7M
- Total gross margin 18% vs 5% YoY
- Best segment Production Facilities revenue $29.7M, up 74%; margin 54% vs 28%
- Worst segment Robotics revenue $76.4M, down 11%; margin 22% vs 25%
- Cash $652.2M vs $445.2M; continuing operating cash flow $101.5M vs $(1.1)M six months ended June 30
- Outlook supported by $1.1B backlog; headwinds include volatile commodity prices, geopolitical tensions and Gulf of America customer spending
Risk Factors
- Newly added merger-litigation risk triggered by April 22, 2026 Merger Agreement
- Most material update: merger closing uncertainty now includes shareholder and regulatory approvals
- Regulatory risk: governmental order could permanently prohibit Transactions before December 31, 2026
- Operational risk: merger restrictions may limit business strategies and attractive opportunities during delays
- Financial risk: failed merger could require significant costs, including a termination fee
AI summary of the HLX 10-Q filed . Generated from the filing text; verify against the original.View on SEC EDGAR10-K vs 10-Q vs 8-K
AI 8-K Current Report Analysis
The most recent material events, by 8-K item
Item EX-99.1: Item EX-99.1
- Reverse acquisition completed September 1, 2026, with Legacy Hornbeck accounting acquirer and shareholders owning approximately 55% of HOS
- Combined company renamed Hornbeck Offshore Services, Inc.; NYSE trading continues under ticker HOS
Item 7.01: Regulation FD Disclosure
- Exhibit 99.1 furnished under Regulation FD, rather than filed under Exchange Act Section 18
- Disclosure generally excluded from registration-statement incorporation by reference absent specific reference
Item 5.02: Departure/Appointment of Directors or Principal Officers
- Todd Hornbeck retained as CEO under five-year term, with minimum $875,000 salary, 140% target bonus and $4.5 million long-term incentive opportunity
- Executive severance creates significant change-of-control obligations, including 2.5x salary plus target bonus for Hornbeck and 2x for EVPs
Item 7.01: Regulation FD Disclosure
- Exhibit 99.1 furnished under Regulation FD, not filed under Exchange Act Section 18
- Disclosure generally excluded from incorporation into registration statements or other filings unless specifically referenced
Item EX-99.1: Item EX-99.1
- Merger completed September 1, 2026, creating an integrated deepwater platform combining offshore vessels, subsea services, robotics, and well intervention
- Pro forma scale: 85 vessels, $1.9B LTM revenue, $551M LTM Adjusted EBITDA, and approximately $3.4B market capitalization
AI summaries of HLX 8-K current reports filed with the SEC. What 8-K item codes mean
SignalX for HLX
Don't miss the next HLX filing
- Alerts as it files. A push when HLX files an 8-K or an insider trades.
- Fund moves. Which tracked funds opened, added or cut HLX, by share count.
- Ask anything. An AI agent that reads every HLX filing and answers with sources.
Recent Insider Transactions (Form 4)
Latest reported trades by officers, directors and 10% owners
| Insider | Type | Date | Shares | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HORNBECK TODD M | A | Sep 2, 2026 | 225,000 | - |
| HORNBECK TODD M | A | Sep 2, 2026 | 500,000 | - |
| Fink Benjamin Matthew | A | Sep 2, 2026 | 16,990 | - |
| Sparks Scott Andrew | A | Sep 2, 2026 | 210,000 | - |
| HORNBECK TODD M | A | Sep 2, 2026 | 675,000 | - |
| HORNBECK TODD M | A | Sep 2, 2026 | 500,000 | - |
| Jindal Piyush | A | Sep 2, 2026 | 31,553 | - |
| LOVOI JOHN | A | Sep 2, 2026 | 16,990 | - |
Financial SummaryXBRL
| Metric | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Profitability | |||
| Revenue | - | $1.4B | $1.3B |
| Gross Profit | $200.4M | $219.6M | $159.1M |
| Operating Income | - | $127.4M | $65.1M |
| Net Income | -$10.8M | $55.6M | $30.8M |
| Gross Margin | - | 16.2% | 12.3% |
| Op. Margin | - | 9.4% | 5.0% |
| Net Margin | - | 4.1% | 2.4% |
| Balance Sheet | |||
| Total Assets | $2.6B | $2.6B | $2.6B |
| Equity | - | $1.5B | $1.6B |
| ROE | - | 3.7% | 2.0% |
| Per Share | |||
| EPS | $-0.07 | $0.36 | $0.21 |
| Cash Flow | |||
| Operating CF | - | $186.0M | $136.7M |
Source: XBRL data in HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX)'s 10-K filings on SEC EDGAR, in USD. Compare across companies →
13F Fund Holdings: Quarterly Trend
Latest: Q2 2026Aggregate HLX share value held by 13F filers tracked by SignalX, by quarter.
Quarterly totals table
| Quarter | Funds | Total value |
|---|---|---|
| Q2 2026 | 31 | $686.7M |
| Q1 2026 | 30 | $735.0M |
| Q4 2025 | 27 | $448.6M |
| Q3 2025 | 28 | $476.0M |
| Q2 2025 | 28 | $423.9M |
| Q1 2025 | 25 | $370.6M |
| Q4 2024 | 22 | $395.9M |
| Q3 2024 | 19 | $301.1M |
- Prudential Financial+1.77M (+549%)
- Goldman Sachs Group+1.58M (+76%)
- Two Sigma Investments+727.1K (+236%)
- BlackRock+573.3K (+3%)
- State Street Corp+466.3K (+7%)
- Citadel Advisors LLC−861.3K (-85%)
- D.E. Shaw & Co−324.0K (-69%)
- Principal Financial Group−276.7K (-6%)
- Millennium Management−212.4K (-46%)
- FMR LLC (Fidelity)−166.9K (-32%)
- HANCOCK WHITNEY CORP+54.6K
Source: 13F-HR filings on SEC EDGAR (aggregated from 210 fund-quarter rows). Reflects only 13F filers tracked by SignalX, not the full institutional ownership universe. How 13F filings work
HLX filing archive
AI analysis pages for each 10-K, 10-Q and 8-K
10-K annual reports
10-Q quarterly reports
Latest 2026 SEC Filings: 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K & Form 4
| Form | Filing date | Period | Analysis | SEC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SC 13G | Sep 9, 2026 | - | - | |
| SC 13G | Sep 9, 2026 | - | - | |
| SC 13D | Sep 9, 2026 | - | - | |
| 8-K | Sep 8, 2026 | - | Analysis | - |
| 4 | Sep 4, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 4, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 4, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 4, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 8-K | Sep 4, 2026 | - | Analysis | - |
| 4 | Sep 4, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 4, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 4, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 8-K | Sep 3, 2026 | - | Analysis | - |
| 4 | Sep 3, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 3, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 3, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 8-K | Sep 2, 2026 | - | Analysis | - |
| 4 | Sep 2, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 2, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 2, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 4 | Sep 2, 2026 | - | - | - |
| 8-K | Sep 1, 2026 | - | Analysis | - |
| 8-K | Aug 31, 2026 | - | Analysis | - |
| 8-K | Aug 11, 2026 | - | Analysis | - |
| 10-Q | Aug 6, 2026 | Jun 30, 2026 | Analysis |
Related Energy companies
- CLB · Core Laboratories Inc. /DE/Oil & Gas Field Services, NEC
- XPRO · EXPRO GROUP HOLDINGS N.V.Oil & Gas Field Services, NEC
- HAL · HalliburtonOil & Gas Field Services, NEC
- LBRT · Liberty Energy Inc.Oil & Gas Field Services, NEC
- TUSK · MAMMOTH ENERGY SERVICES, INC.Oil & Gas Field Services, NEC
- NESR · National Energy Services Reunited Corp.Oil & Gas Field Services, NEC
- NGS · NATURAL GAS SERVICES GROUP INCOil & Gas Field Services, NEC
- OII · OCEANEERING INTERNATIONAL INCOil & Gas Field Services, NEC
HLX SEC filings: frequently asked questions
Which institutions hold HLX stock?
As of June 30, 2026, the largest HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX) holders among the 13F filers tracked by SignalX were BlackRock ($198.7 million), Dimensional Fund Advisors ($79.5 million), State Street Corp ($62.7 million), Invesco Ltd ($61.5 million), Vanguard Portfolio Management LLC ($56.1 million). 13F-HR reports are filed up to 45 days after each quarter ends.
What was HLX's revenue in fiscal year 2025?
For the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025 (FY2025), HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX) reported revenue of $1.3 billion (down 4.9% from FY2024) and net income of $30.8 million. Diluted EPS was $0.21. The figures come from the XBRL data in the 10-K.
What are the main risks in HLX's latest 10-K?
In the 10-K filed February 26, 2026, HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX) flagged: Regulatory/legal risk: U.S. 2025 Wind Energy Ban temporarily halting new wind leasing on U.S. Outer Continental Shelf impacting renewable revenue. Geopolitical/macroeconomic risk: Global commodity price drop 20% in 2025, plus instability in Middle East, Ukraine, Venezuela affecting offshore oil and gas customer spending. (AI summary of the Risk Factors section.)
What did HLX report in its latest 8-K?
HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX) filed an 8-K on September 8, 2026. Reverse acquisition completed September 1, 2026, with Legacy Hornbeck accounting acquirer and shareholders owning approximately 55% of HOS.
What are the latest HLX SEC filings?
HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX) filed its latest 10-K annual report on February 26, 2026, a 10-Q quarterly report on August 6, 2026, an 8-K current report on September 8, 2026 and a Form 4 insider filing on September 4, 2026.
What is HLX's SEC CIK number?
HELIX ENERGY SOLUTIONS GROUP INC (HLX)'s SEC Central Index Key (CIK) is 866829. EDGAR lists every HLX filing under that number.
Ask anything about HLX
The research agent reads HLX's filings, financials, insider trades and 13F holders, then answers with sources.